5 Comments

I know that it’s probably not what you are looking for but.. I think David Roberts series about Hector, Rosie etc. introduces a more structured and overly detailed look at things some people have in a soft and normal way. In some spreads he has this abundance of details neatly laid out and organised and not touching each other. To many people might look just like a style choice. To me it felt very calming and organised and a nod to an array of conditions, namely OCD, autistic spectrum. The vibe I got was “We see you, it’s ok, you are not alone” ☺️

Expand full comment
author

I will take a look at those, Inna. That's a really good point - sometimes we mistake things in illustration that are by design for style choices. Many of those would be overlooked by neurotypical people - that's a good thing to keep a book out of the 'issue book' category. Just normalising different methods of play or needs through using them in illustration in ALL books is the ultimate way to be inclusive. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2022Liked by Maxine Lee-Mackie

Makes me think of the Moomins. There is this underlying message of inclusiveness, without banging a gong. Even the scary figure of the Groke is treated sympathetically, with more than one facet of her character showing through in different scenarios. Meanwhile, the attitudes of the Moominvalley residents range from fear to compassion for her. There was another female character who eventually became invisible because everyone ignored her. That was so poignant but also strangely believable. As a child, I found these books emotionally charged and atmospheric. I think I should just get a whole set of them now, as an adult and relive it all! The Moomin stories represent my first experience of neurodiversity, with an implicit acceptance: different is not 'other' or bad. Just because we don't understand someone right now, doesn't mean we should reject them.

Expand full comment
author

That's a good example, Gwen! Thank you.

I found the Moomins always calmed me down - I was completely engrossed in the scenery and art style. I can't remember much of the stories (I'm going to do a refresher). That last part is beautiful - definitely agree with you 100%. Kristy Forbes has a page on Facebook that you might enjoy - she is very calming and rational. I watched a video of hers this morning asking 'Does Autism have a look?' Very interesting, especially from a children's illustration point of view.

Expand full comment

Thank you, I will check out Kirsty's Page. Deviating somewhat, I watched 'The Man Who Fell to Earth' again yesterday, starring David Bowie. His character is not neurotypically human because he is meant to be an alien. He doesn't look physically different, but he emanates a persona that differentiates him from everyone around him. He's consistently authentic in that character too, while others are fickle and treacherous around him. I think it's a fascinating story and movie, which begs the question of whether 'typical ' is actually 'normal'.

Expand full comment